Skip navigation

by Nathan

berkiepork.jpg

[picture from gothamist]

I guess I’m a David Chang fan. I’ve been to the Momofuku noodle bar three times (out of like, the six times I went to the City) and it always impresses the people I bring with me. I still enjoy dipping my somen into the cold broth, and the new larger location is less claustrophobic. So I just had to try the Ssam bar, which Mr Chang opened after the success of the first restaurant. I didn’t know what to expect, having read little about it, except that it is a new take on the asian burrito.

Anyway, the place is as usual, pretty inconspicuous from the outside. The interior is dark and appropriately filled with asian yuppies. The menu is like an asian version of tapas. It only occurred to us that we were supposed to order a few dishes and share them after the waiter told us. Service was good and enthusiastic.

And on to the food: They have the trademark Momofuku steamed buns. We didn’t try them, but I would expect it to be as good as the ones in Momofuku. This is a meat lovers’ paradise and there is a wide variety of ham. The ssam is actually a wrap done in the korean way. We had a ssam with grilled lemongrass pork sausage, fish sauce and bibb lettuce, and we had to sprinkle the sauce all over the meat and wrap it up with the lettuce. The sausage was tender and tangy, thanks to the lemongrass. We also had curried rice cakes, which really fill you up. I wouldn’t recommend that one. Then there was a fish, which was ok.

If I were to go there again, I would probably be more adventurous (and more willing to spend) and order the shellfish and ham. I also heard that there is a special late night menu.

207 2nd Ave and 13th St , New York

4 Comments

  1. really? this is korean food? it reminds me of the hakka dish, kong ba bao. the one by westlake restaurant in singapore is very good! and fatty

  2. we are so loserish to comment on our own blog.. is the about page up yet? wtf is kim? n wats with the emailing of coments?

  3. kim is trying to set up her own blog… lol… ok… i will post today… my blog is up!!!!! haha… eh seriously… put bylines so it is easier to see who wrote what…

  4. yay good job on the bylines… now we have to get the about page done.. then i can start promoting it.


Leave a Reply

